Hokkaido in Autumn

IMG_0397

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hokkaido in Autumn

  1. sendaiben says:

    Is that in August? 😀

  2. Jeremy says:

    Hello!

    I’m still planning to move permanently to Japan and pursue a brand new vocation teaching conversational English but I’m concerned about two things in particular, amongst others, inter alia (lol I know, pretentious).

    I’ll be 46 and a half upon arrival while still needing to learn the ins and outs of the trade as an employee at an eikiawa, most likely. I don’t have great physical energy and am wondering if it’ll be socially acceptable to work close to full time or slightly less, at most, or even just part time, or will this be viewed as proof of unforgivable sloth in light of the preternatural Japanese work ethic? Lol I’m not lazy and if I’m allowed to sit part of the time while teaching I might be able to grind out a full load. Eventually I’m planning to have my own kyoushitsu in our home (my wife is a native Japanese women. Adorable but meaner than a dog fight).

    My other big worry is the truly hellacious summer climate in Kumamoto (where we’ll be living) which seems to run from mid spring through summer with no real relief until mid or late fall ugh. I’m sensitive to the heat. If the taihen mushiatsui heat proves too much during that time of year, wondering if it might be possible to go far north or somewhere else within Japan where the weather is less severe and find seasonal/temporary work teaching English? Is it possible to find work seasonally while being up front with employer about plans to be there for only 3-5 months. In addition, are there any eikiawas or similar prospective employers that hire some folks in this way and on this truncated basis, where I might be able to return and do a replay the next year and in years to come?

    Wondering if my somewhat … ahem … special needs immediately make me the protruding nail that gets hammered down or if there will be some flexibility for me given the fact I’m middle aged and assuming that with the exception of my less than robust motor, I turn out to be a reasonably competent English teacher.

    Any feedback or pointers would be greatly appreciated, thanks. Love your blog and really enjoyed reading your digital novella or whatever. You’re a hilarious and gifted writer!

    JC

    • Hi Jeremy,

      Firstly, with your wife being Japanese you will likely have or be able to get a spouse visa. With such you don’t need to rely in getting sponsorship from an employer. Usually full-time work would be required to get that visa sponsorsip, but in your case that doesn’t apply. What that means is that you should be able to pick up part-time work. Full-time is probably more secure, but you at least have the choice. You don’t always have to stand doing eikaiwa work. I stand and walk around a lot but I sit quite a bit, too. It does take quite a bit of energy to handle younger students! I don’t think it would be a good idea to apply for full-time jobs and then try to negotiate more of a part-time position – better just to seek out advertised part-time work if that is your preference.

      As for the seasonal work – that is less likely, I think. Some places do put on summer schools in the summer vacation, and they may need extra staff to help out, but that is fairly rare. Also, even if you are working part-time, it will likely be regular part-time and most places wouldn’t be happy about you taking off for a couple of months in the summer. You may just have to crank up the air-con and do the best you can!

      Whatever you decide, best of luck! And thanks again for the compliments!

      • Jeremy says:

        Thanks for the feedback, this is very helpful! …and a relief to know with my spousal visa I’ll have some control over work load.

        I do want and will need to make money. Hopefully eating healthier more enjoyable Japanese food on a daily basis will give me a boost of energy. Also if teaching turns out to be fun that’ll help, obviously.

        In any case, thanks for the useful info 😊

Leave a Reply

