Good: Substitute Guinness on St Patrick’s Day

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Good: Substitute Guinness on St Patrick’s Day

  1. letsjapan says:

    I notice the wild panic that continues to not grip you and most of my friends in Japan. My 1/4 Kelley says “Erin go bragh!” My 3/4 English says, “What’s the big deal?” ;0)

  2. judi(togainunochi) says:

    CHEERS!

  3. Jeffrey says:

    As much as I like Kirin Stout and Sapporo Black Beer, you couldn’t get any Guinness locally?

    • You can, but I couldn’t be bothered going any further than walking up to the local supermarket, and it didn’t have any. Generally, it’s not that hard to find these days.

  4. TheOctopus says:

    You had me worried there, I thought you’d found a Guinness-esque happoshu.

    I’m quite partial to the Kirin Stout too, it has been a great comfort over the last few days 🙂

  5. David says:

    How does it taste like? Is it any good?

      • David says:

        I gotta admit that while I haven’t found any great Japanese beer (didn’t look for one either, I go Belgian or UK if I want a great beer), I was gladly surprised by the fact that most of the ones I’ve tried were not bad at all (but then again, it maybe because I drank my first Japanese beers in the US).
        I have to try it next time I’m in Japan.

  6. Mr. S. says:

    There are rather good Japanese micro-brews, though they are hard to find anywhere but specialty liquor shops and brew-pubs (Popeye’s in Ryogoku, Tokyo!). I have one grocer in town who carries four micro-brews, and my wife’s getting annoyed I won’t walk by there without buying more.

    As for Guinness, traditional and all that, and I have not had it in Ireland at all, or from the keg very often, but is it not possible it isn’t over rated? Certainly no craft ale, nor cask conditioned. If you find yourself in Quebec, you must try St. Ambroise Oatmeal Stout: black as sin and delicious as lust.

Leave a Reply

